Enchiladas

            When I think of Mexican food I think of the cheese oozing from soft warm tortillas that are covered in sauce, I also think of the burst of flavors you get after taking that first bite of two cheesy enchiladas. Because this all sounds so yummy in my head, I decided to make my favorite Mexican dish, cheese enchiladas. Chicken and beef enchiladas are sure tasty, but since cheese is my absolute favorite I thought why not make the cheesiest enchiladas possible. Growing up my mom loved to make enchilada pie, this is my families favorite home cooked meal. Enchilada pie inspired me to make cheese enchiladas not only because they taste amazing, but also because this could be a new homemade cooked meal for my family to love and enjoy.  When I was ten years old I finally asked my mom one day if I could help her cook enchilada pie, and with her approval I was so excited too see what the recipe was and how to cook it. The recipe was quite simple all we had to do was go to the store to get all the ingredients then we made sure to turn the stove and oven on so that it would heat up. The process of making enchilada pie is very similar to making enchiladas, which consisted of dipping each tortilla in red enchilada sauce then topping mounds of cheese and green onions on top.

            As we continued this process until the entire dish was full of tortillas, red sauce, green onions, and cheese, we put the enchilada pie in the oven so that all the cheese would melt. I made sure to keep the oven light on the entire time, so that I could slowly watch the cheese melt, and to imagine how good it’s going to taste. When the timer finally went off I was so excited to eat the enchilada pie, because I was so hungry. That evening, I loved how my entire family sat around the dinner table to eat the tasty home cooked meal that my mom and I cooked. At first we silently ate, but then we all came together as a family and discussed how our days were. Ever since that day I have always told myself that when I have a family I am going to have a special dish that brings my family together. English class was a perfect opportunity, because it allowed me to open up my cooking abilities and just take a chance on cooking a meal from scratch. My mom’s enchilada pie was my main inspiration to cook enchiladas, and because I’ve had experience with making enchilada pie I wasn’t that nervous to mess it up, because after all it only is tortillas, cheese, and sauce. So even if it doesn’t look pretty on the outside it will still taste good on the inside. Finding the recipes was quite simple, but the tricky part was to put it to the actual test. I found two scrumptious recipes that both intrigued my taste buds. In the first batch of enchiladas that I cooked, the sauce was more of a mild chili sauce, whereas the second batch tasted sweeter with a strong hit of tomato flavor. I am so happy that I found these two recipes, because my enchiladas ended up being so yummy.

Image

Leave a Reply

